Summer Entertainment Series

Thanks to our 2014 Summer Entertainment Series sponsors: CMC-NorthEast, Hilbish Ford, Coca-Cola, Budweiser, Cabarrus Arts Council, F&M Bank, and Alley, Williams, Carmen & King, Inc.

For more information, call Kannapolis Parks & Recreation at 704-920-4343.

2014 Summer Concerts

(Location:  Village Park; 700 West C Street, Kannapolis; all concerts begin at 7:00 unless otherwise noted)

  • Saturday, June 7, 2014 – National Country Artist Joe Diffie with FIREWORKS
  • Saturday, June 21, 2014 – Tribute Night featuring On the Border (Eagles) and Tuesday’s Gone (Lynyrd Skynyrd)
  • Wednesday, July 2, 2014 – Charlotte Symphony with FIREWORKS
  • Saturday, July 19, 2014 – Carolina Soul Band
  • Saturday, August 2, 2014 – Darrell Harwood & Gal Friday
  • Saturday, August 16, 2014 – Too Much Sylvia with FIREWORKS

 

2014 Movies in the Park

(Location:  Village Park; 700 West C Street, Kannapolis; all movies start approx 8:45pm)

  • Friday, May 30, 2014 – Turbo (PG)
  • Friday, June 13, 2014 – Catching Fire (PG-13)
  • Friday, June 27, 2014 – Despicable Me 2 (PG)
  • Friday, July 11, 2014 – Frozen (PG)
  • Friday, July 25, 2014 – Big (PG)
  • Friday, August 8, 2014 – The Nut Job (PG)

 

2014 Stories Under the Stars

(Location:  Kannapolis Branch Library; 850 Mountain Street, Kannapolis; all performances start at 7:00 p.m.)

  • Saturday, April 26 – Mad Science; Stories through Science – Up, Up & Away with a Fantastic Flyer Fun Station
  • Saturday, May 17 –  Paul Miller & Flow Circus, Stories through fun & improv comedy
  • Saturday, June 28 – Bright Star Children’s Theater; Performing Professor Parsnips Lab of Healthy Choices
  • Saturday, August 23 – Performer Steve Langley; Stories through Juggling, Magic and great feat of danger

 

2014 Thursdays on Main – Lunchtime Music Series

(Location:  Veterans Park; Corner of North Main and East First St; all performances are scheduled 11:30 – 1:00 p.m.)

  • Thursday, May 1 – Ben Gatlin Band
  • Thursday, May 8 – Gator Gumbo
  • Thursday, May 15 – Back Porch Bluegrass
  • Thursday, May 22 – Diamond Shaped Daylight
  • Thursday, May 29 – Nita B
  • Thursday, June 5 – White Chocolate
  • Thursday, June 12 – SoundBarrier
  • Thursday, June 19 – Carson Hill
  • Thursday, June 26 – LJTT (Little Johnny)

 

2014 Thursdays on Main – Evening Music Series

(Location:  Veterans Park; Corner of North Main and East First St; all performances are scheduled 6:00 – 9:00 p.m.)

  • Thursday, June 12 – Coconut Groove Band
  • Thursday, July 10 – Black Glass
  • Thursday, August 14 – Tim Clark Band

 

OTHER SUMMER PERFORMANCES
  • Tuesday, May 13, 2014 – AL Brown High School Spring Band Concert ~ Spirit of America(6:30 pm, Veterans Park)
  • Wednesday, June 25, 2014 – Summer Reading Program Performance w Roger Day (10:30 am; Village Park)
  • Wednesday, July 9, 2014 – Summer Reading Program Performance w Farmer Jason (10:30 am; Village Park)
  • Saturday, July 26 – Ballet Performance by Piedmont Dance Theater (7:00 pm start time; Village Park)

 

Please note that all performances are subject to change.  For the most accurate information or last-minute changes/cancellations,  please contact the department directly at 704-920-4343.